autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

What am I doing wrong?

I'm totally new to polishing. My first attempt was with porter cable with orange CG hex logic pads. I had all 3 pads detach from the Velcro and fall apart.

Could I be over saturating the pad? Caused by heat? I cleaned on the fly with a terry cloth towel like mike Phillips shows after other section. I watched about 50 different videos before attempting to polish. I also was using an x pattern with compound. Just trying to learn how to keep my pads intact cause looks like I'll be placing another order for pads now.

Also even with 1 spray of pad conditioner on a fresh pad it slings product everywhere for the first section. Thanks for the tips and suggestions.

Post Thanks / Like

Re: What am I doing wrong?

I had a couple of white cg hex logic pads come apart on me as well. I believe the two things that killed my pads were over heating them and spinning the pads when they weren't in contact with the paint. They do seem to be a little delicate so the next batch I worked with a little more mechanical sympathy and they survived.

Mike Phillips

There is such a thing as matching Velcro, that is where the hook is matched to the loop. If you use a backing plate made by one company and buy pads from a different company it's completely possible for the hook and loop to NOT match and have poor attachment and in cases like these pads can fly off.

I cover this in my how-to book.

This is also in my how-to book as well as on the forum and I recommend everyone new to machine polishing read it FIRST to avoid all the common mistakes.