autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Post Thanks / Like

Help me choose a DA polisher

I'm new to the electric polisher game and want to make the right choice in purchasing this piece of equipment. My intended uses are as follows:

1. Wife's black 2010 Jetta- extensive swirl marks, pretty bad actually as we bought the car used.

2. My new silver Scion FR-S sports coupe. only 6 months old and always hand washed by me. I have not waxed it yet but I already purchased DP Poli-coat paint sealant and Colinite 845. Winter struck before I was able to seal and wax my new car!

3. 20 Foot Boston Whaler Ventura. it's a 1998 in great condition but in need of some hull surface restoration, still shines but not like new. I want to polish and protect the hull.

There are so many choices and it seems like people like the Griots, Porter Cable or Meguiar's. The essence of my question is which machine would suit my needs the best and which set up to buy. They come with different size backing plates and different counter weights etc etc. All the choices seem so overwhelming. I want to purchase something ideal with the right size backing plates, pads etc. etc. This is a hobby for me so I'm hoping to get something universal that I can use across all my application. And what brand and type of pads to buy? Thanks

Mike Phillips

Re: Help me choose a DA polisher

For dependability, you can't beat the Porter Cable 7424XP. MILLIONS of cars have been de-swirled using this simple tool and it's so effective, everyone else models their tool off the Porter Cable design. Plus they are are real tool company.

Lots of our members will recommend the Griot's as it has the most power and it does.