autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Question Newbie First Time Detailing Question

Hello everyone. This is my first time detailing and I was wondering if I could get some advice concerning the type of polish and pad to use. I just recently purchased the Porter Cable 7424XP with some of the Lake Country 6.5" CCS pads. I have a dark blue 2002 Honda Civic EX and the paint is in great shape but is looking a little dull with some very minor swirling probably caused from the washing and drying over the years. I am thinking of using the Pinnacle combination of Advanced Swirl Remover along with the Advanced Finishing Polish.

Should I start out with using the Advanced Finishing Polish only along with a white pad since the Finishing Polish does contain abrasives? Then if needed, use the Advanced Swirl Remover with a white pad to remove only certain areas?I don't want to start out with something too harsh that may damage the paint. I am looking to polish the whole car.

Also, the Honda Civic also has plastic body work around the front and back of the car. Is it ok to use the PC 7424XP to polish and wax these areas since it is plastic? Should I only use the PC on metal only? There is also some plastic trim that goes around the sides of the car that has the same paint as the rest of the car...can I use the PC on this trim as well?

Thank you in advance for any advice you may have.
    Last edited by bluevanken; 07-23-2010 at 07:42 AM.

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Newbie First Time Detailing Question

Quote Originally Posted by bluevanken View Post