autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: new polisher

SELF BANNED
    Post Thanks / Like

new polisher

I am new to this polishing and trying to decide which polisher to get, i found the porter cable 2474xp, am going to polish paint/coating from light swirl marks, and possibly remove few small (but stubborn) water spot marks,

My questions:-

Is the porter 2474xp suitable for my application ?..
    Does it require maintenance or is it maintenance free ?..
    Which pads to I need/how many do I need ? (trying to keep costs low)..
    How to clean and take care of the pads for future use ?..

Please advise based on your experience and recommendations...

thanks,

Post Thanks / Like

Re: new polisher

Quote Originally Posted by aliitp View Post
    I am new to this polishing and trying to decide which polisher to get, i found the porter cable 2474xp, am going to polish paint/coating from light swirl marks, and possibly remove few small (but stubborn) water spot marks,

Is the porter 2474xp suitable for my application ?.. get a GG6, more torque, and lifetime warranty..
    Does it require maintenance or is it maintenance free ?.. any problems with it and GG will send you a new one trouble free/excellent CS..
    Which pads to I need/how many do I need ? (trying to keep costs low).. the lake country thinpro pads (minimum of 3 each) are a great choice for pc-style DA's..
    How to clean and take care of the pads for future use ?.. you can use a pad cleaner or apc (soak in a bucket if needed) and gently massage out all the product out and repeat as necessary, then let them air dry...

thanks,

Post Thanks / Like