autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Post Thanks / Like

First paint correction! What products? HELP!

Hey Mike and other AG members,

I'm planning on doing a paint correction (removing swirls, polish, then LSP) soon as I just received my new GG DA polisher. Since I am new I am not quite sure which products to use. I want to start with a less abrasive swirl remover since I am not quite sure how deep the swirls are. I consulted the very helpful compound/polish chart from AG and I was considering using the twins (WG TSR 3.0 and Polish). I know a lot of members swear by the m105/m205, but being a beginner, I don't think I want to use that much cutting power. Am I right to start off slowly and use a less abrasive swirl remover and polish? I have consulted many of Mike's helpful videos so I have a very good idea of how to polish using my DA.

In my arsenal, I have the GG DA polisher, 5" backing plate with 5.5" lc hydros (all colors), 3.5" backing plate and 4" lc hydros (all colors). I also picked up the Meg's ultimate compound and ultimate polish as an OTC option, but I am looking for more direction.

The cars that I would be doing this swirl removal on include a 2002 Mustang - dark blue metallic and a 2001 Volvo - silver metallic. I know different manufactures have different clear coats so any help or advice would be greatly appreciated!

John

Post Thanks / Like
    It sounds like you have everything you need to get started! You are correct in wanting to use the least aggresive pad/product to achieve your desired results. Without being able to see the paint its hard to suggest what to start with.