autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Black paint marring (I think) problems.

Hi Guys,

Sorry for another marring (I think) thread. New guy to the detailing hobby after many months of reading here. This is my first attempt and learning new processes, techniques.

I have read a lot on this forum trying to figure out what I am stuck on. Microfiber towel scratches is where I think I am and I have read that section but can't get away from them so thought I would post for you gurus to check out. Also read final wipe.

Will a sealant like M21 cover these? I would much prefer to remove them and not cover them up if possible.

I have included pics from the start to the problem in case that helps.

Process:

-2 Bucket wash
    -clay bar
    -IPA wipe down

-M105/Soft Buff 2.0 Yellow
    -M205/Soft Buff 2.0 Yellow
    -M205/Soft Buff 2.0 Black
    -via G110v2

The after hood pics show what it looks like in the garage under halogens and what it looks like with sun at an angle.

This marring seems to be dependant on the wipe down and not in the DA process. I tried wiping horizontal and vertical and I get the corresponding streak, scratch direction. I have tried microfiber towels in 80/20, 70/30, thick, thin, used several on top of the one I am wiping the surface with to soften the touch, IPA spray on the towel to moisten it and help remove the polish. I've tried harder wipes, makes it worse, soft wipes are better.

I have used clean towels, new towels, dirty towels hahaha. I have also folded them to keep the edges off the car. BTW can these edges be cut off or will they fray too badly?

Maybe I will just drive after sunset. haha.