autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

What am I doing wrong?

I'm new at this level of car care. I've always enjoyed washing and taking care of my cars. Now that I'm retired and have discovered AG and have spent a boatload of money on some really neat products, the latest boatload was spent on an array of micro fiber cloths and something that I must be using incorrectly. When I read the chart for all the different kinds of micro fiber cloths and their recommended use, the only recommendations for "drying" fell under the heading of "guzzler waffle weaves". They seemed awful big and thick. I'm 6' 4' and 240 and have always wrung the tar out of micro fibers and dried the cars off beautifully. But, hey, who am I to argue with my new found car guru? If AG says to dry only with guzzler waffle weave, so be it. Being the shrewd buyer that I perceive myself to be, among other things, I ordered BOGO waffle weave. It came yesterday and I tried it out this morning. It's thick, large, bulky and I think difficult to work with. It was like trying to dry my car with a mattress pad cover. How should it be used?
    Dyslexics of the world: Untie!

Post Thanks / Like

Re: What am I doing wrong?

IMO...You shouldn't have to use too much pressure at all. On a nice finish you should be able to gently glide the MF towel across the car. The bigger towels can be really annoying to work with but they work wonders on drying your car.