autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Griots Orange 6.5" versus Black 6.5"

Ok so basically I am totally new to all this considering I just recently purchased my first newish car in many years and wanted to maintain the appearance. I recently bought (but have not picked up yet) a Griots 6" DA kit that comes with a 6.5" orange pad and a trial bottle of All in one sealant. Question is, on cars with relatively great paint condition, are the orange griots pads ok for use as a polish pad (with something like Meguiars ultimate polish etc) to be used every 3-6 months (still deciding how often this can really be done without screwing up the clear) or should I be aiming at the black pads, assuming I was to keep with the griots line. Reason is I feel as if I won't be able to finish the car with the one step with just the pad that comes with it and If it is too abrasive to be used more than once or twice every few years or just as a spot removal tool for more severe scratches, I have no business buying more orange pads. However the store I bought the DA from only stocks the Orange and the Red Pad, and I'm confused as If i should hold off and only use the orange pad for spot correction and order some Black (or white/Green LC pads) Griots or will buying like 2 more orange pads (for a total of 3) and then like 1 red pad be sufficient for doing only my personal car (2015 Honda Civic) for the forseeable future. I do have Ultimate compound for the harder corrections, but more worried about what to use for polish and finish step, pad wise.

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Griots Orange 6.5" versus Black 6.5"