autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

3" polisher or da sander

Recently I purchased a 6" 3m sander 3/16 throw for use with the trizact system
    -
    I have the 3000 and 5000 with interface for the da and was going to hand sand the 1500 because I've never done this before and don't want to go through....I thought about using the da with 1500....

The car is in the blocking stages of primer right now. It will either gets 4 coats of clear or 3 coats then sanded with 800 then 3 more coats. Then cut and polished

I also purchased the 3m polishing system
    White
    Black
    Blue 8" and 3" pads with the corresponding compounds and polishes.
    -

This will be used with an adjustable dewalt buffer.
    -

Then went ahead and bought some 3" trizact 3000 and 5000 with the interface pad.

Now I'm trying to figure out what I should buy for a 3" machine.
    I was looking at this 3" 3m set up
    -

As said above I have the 6" one. What I was thinking is I could use the 6" and the 3" above for polishing and cutting as opposed to that buffer.

I have also been looking at the electric polishers PC, GG, FLEX, MEGS in 6" capacity. The 3" gg looks good but from what I've read it won't cut. I need something for tight spaces that will cut

Can I polish and cut with these 3m sanders?

Post Thanks / Like

Re: 3" polisher or da sander

1500 by that 3m machine will give you better results than by hand. The sanding marks or "controlled defects" will be easier to remove on the the subsequent 3000 damp sand step. Hand sanding is not very uniform, and imo, is more likely to cause a strike through.