autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Sad and polish or sand and respray my orange peel?

Recently I bought some replacement fenders for my truck which came primered. It's an old truck and I am new to auto body paint so I figured painting them in my 10 degree (50F) garage would work well. Maybe it was the cold (the paint can which I ordered in the proper colour from an auto paint store was inside the heated house before painting) or my application being too thin but my paint came out VERY orange peeled.

I've included some pictures of what I mean, is it better at this point to sand with 1500 then 2500 and use cutting compound then polish to get rid of this or am I better off to just sand the peel off with 1000 and respray in warmer conditions and thicker coats?
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Sad and polish or sand and respray my orange peel?-image-jpg  

Post Thanks / Like
    That picture doesn't really show what's going on, but appears more like dry spray. Almost like there wasn't enough clearcoat sprayed on.

Temperature and air pressure will play a big part in how it looks. How your gun is set up, and what kind, tip size, etc. Also how close your gun is, how quickly your moving, the viscosity of the clearcoat, and the cleanliness of the area you're spraying in.

I would resand it, and reapply the clearcoat. You basically spray it how you want it to look. If you want it dripping wet, watch as you spray to achieve that.

Its difficult to describe, maybe watch a few videos, and practice on some spray cards. Get the technique down, then respray.

This is all assuming its dryspray, which is what the pictures look like.