autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

1980 Jeep J10 Honcho, Sport Side

Hello all, I am WH.

I am 58, spent time as an Industrial Arts teacher, with my main areas being woodworking and drafting.

I have been building in the commercial sector for the last thirty years or so. I have spent three or four years while teaching, working in a Chrysler Plymouth dealership during the summers as a flat rate mechanic.

I learned mechanics back in the 70's hot rodding 340 Dodge Darts.

I have been able to do most any construction trade, by watching the work and asking about how it is done.

The project Jeep that I am working on went rather smoothly through disassembley, referbishing, and restoring until I came up against the body work area.
    I have never seen anyone, or had anyone that I could quiz on the procedure.

I made it through priming and glazing with the help of the internet. I am struggling with the final painting, again never having seen how it is done. I am practicing and getting better, but still not getting the results without cutting and buffing.

I am still in the training stages, I am doing test panels on very simple parts that I will use on the truck.

The Jeep is rather unusual as to the way the bed is constructed, with the fiberglass rear fenders, and sheet metal fairings. I see no way that I could paint it in one spray, because of the areas that I could not get to with a paint gun, unless it were disassembled.