autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

1995 Brilliant Black Mazda paint woes

Hi all - I'm a newb to the forum and a relative newb to detailing. Got my PC and full array of products & pads about a year ago and have spent a lot of hours reading and developing my skill. I own two cars which I care for and wash myself - a 1995 Brilliant Black Mazda Miata and a 2004 Laser Red Infiniti FX35.

I guess the first thing I really should clear up is the type of paint and what products work best. From everything I have learned, the Brilliant Black paint is single stage with no clear coat. Just about every flaw possible exists on the black paint. Chips, scratches, etching, swirls, holograms... it's all there. Here's a photo after a wash and clay - no reflection at all.

After about four hours on just the hood with products and polishing only, here's where she stands today. There's actually a reflection now, but I have spots that I believe are chips.

I have actually attempted wet-sanding on the front fenders with limited success. The problem I have is that the heavy cut polishes I am using don't seem to be removing the 2000 grit sanding marks completely. I have to go over the same panel four or five times with the most aggressive combinations I have - and it is still not removing the sanding marks.

Could use some advice for an agressive heavy cut polish and pad combination for my single stage paint. Was interested in 3M products, but it seems they have specific usages, "for new clear coat finishes, etc".

Post Thanks / Like

Re: 1995 Brilliant Black Mazda paint woes