autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

White marks after wet sanding with 2000 grit (I think I burned my paint)

Dear all,

I am new to this wonderful forum, and also new to car detailing, I detailed a couple of cars with hard paint but first time to work on my wife's Honda Accord. I was sanding a bird drooping on the hood, with 2000 grid with plans to do one pass with 3000 then compound then polish.

I always use 3M sanding papers, however this time I used a product called from auto zone (Finish 1st mini block as seen in the picture, I used the 2000 grid verison), what I liked about it, the block was very small to tackle tiny areas instead of sanding larger areas. I sanded for only 2 minutes only, then found this white spot on the paint. THE SANDPAPER WAS COMPLETELY TORN (SEE THE PICTURE). I didn't use a paint thickness gauge. it was the factory original paint, and I wasn't going to go deeper. I believe I made a mistake by not using a paint thickness gauge and purchasing unknown sanding brand.

Any help or suggestions to repair this spot. I don't want to repaint the whole hood. Thank you in advance.

White marks after wet sanding with 2000 grit (I think I burned my paint)-img_5321-jpg
    White marks after wet sanding with 2000 grit (I think I burned my paint)-img_5322-jpg
    White marks after wet sanding with 2000 grit (I think I burned my paint)-img_5323-jpg
    White marks after wet sanding with 2000 grit (I think I burned my paint)-screen-shot-2017-03-01-7-06-19-pm-jpg

Post Thanks / Like

Re: White marks after wet sanding with 2000 grit (I think I burned my paint)