autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Please Recommend a Coating

Hi everyone. I am new to auto detailing, so please bare with me if I sound like a noob.

Just recently I bought a brand new CX5 in metallic gray. I cleaned the car and put some Meguiar's Ultimate Liquid Wax on day one. While the look is decent right after waxing, i have noticed a layer of dust built up on the car the very next morning. That really bugs the living hell out of me. I live in an apartment so my car is parked in a car port at night, and out in the sun during the day when I am at work. I plan to do a real car wash once every month or two, and use waterless method in between.

I have been reading a lot about coatings for the past few days, and seems like coating will repel dust much better than traditional wax or sealant, so I am very tempted to give it a try. I know there are many posts about ceramic coatings already, but can you recommend me a coating that is best suited for my needs?

- Repels Dust
    - Able to withstand waterless car wash (good scratch resistance)
    - Gives protection to California sunshine
    - Last at least 1 year

I don't need the car to look brand new all the time, I just want it to stay clean as much as possible. Mckee's coating seems very good for the price, but I think some people say the new version is not as slick as the old version, so does that mean it will hold on to dust more than a coating that is slicker?

Thanks!!

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Please Recommend a Coating