autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 8 12345678 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Updated 11/21/11: Clear Coat Failure and Repair(with all pics)

Let me start by saying I'm not a professional painter so I'm sure there are things that I could have done better. So dont rip me too bad if you see any errors. Second, this is my personal vehicle, the same one in my avatar. So no customers were harmed in the repairing of this clear coat.

The point of this is I've seen some try, or talk about trying, to use other products to repair clear coat failure. Opti Coat for example. All be it temporary just to protect the base color. Well this got me thinking how hard would it be to do a more permanent repair? If someone were reasonably skilled at wet sanding, spray painting, and polishing, could they perform a decent repair on there own if say we cant afford a repaint. So this is what I did. There was no risk here at all, the clear had failed so it needed repainted anyway so if i screwed up, it still needs to be repainted. But if I dont then ive saved myself some money. You pros can chime in as to how much one would save.

NOTE: This is a relatively small area if you have clear coat failure all over your car this repair may not be feasible.

Products used:
    1: A plastic light switch cover to chip off loose clear.(hey use what you got no plastic razor blades on hand)
    2: Meguiars 2500 grit wet sand paper
    3: Dupli color perfect match clear coat spray can
    4: meguiars 105/205
    5: yellow solo wool pad/grey solo foam pad
    6: Flex 603vvb rotary