autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Post Thanks / Like

Is Neiko a good buy?

Amazon.com: Neiko Professional-Grade Variable Speed 7 Inch Car, Truck and Boat Polisher - Buffer - 1.75 HP: Automotive

Came across this deal on amazon. I'm a noob. Wondering if this polisher would be good for removing swirls. I don't have much money and this barely fits into my budget. I'd really like something less than 60$ that does a good job removing swirls. Any help would be appreciated!!

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Is Neiko a good buy?

Most members will tell you in a perfect world this isn't the ideal unit to start out with but with it being within your budget you can make it work. The learning curve to a rotary such as this compared to a DA is longer and contains more risk of error such as burn through or buffer trails. If you are patient and willing to experience a trial and error period this machine will get you started. You will need a couple of old hoods or body panels to practice on or a older beater car. If this sounds like something you might care to do then go for it. If a easier path is what you are looking for then save up for a DA machine. Just a old mans 2 cents.

Post Thanks / Like

Just to add to 2old's remarks, to reduce the risk, use smaller, softer pads.

Post Thanks / Like

If you watch the sales, you can get a Griots Garage RO for about $40 more. Regardless, the polisher is cheap compared to the investment in pads you will need to make.

Post Thanks / Like

I will say you get what you pay for...