autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Post Thanks / Like

OK I made the jump...cheaply

I went to Harbor Freight and bought the Chicago 7" rotary. Can someone give me some advice on a backing plate? I have been using a DA (Dewalt) for many years. I figured I would try the rotary route (in the interest of time). I have 4 kids so anyway to save time I look into. If It goes well I will pull the trigger on a nice rotary.
    Thanks,
    Rick

Post Thanks / Like

Re: OK I made the jump...cheaply

Quote Originally Posted by BuckeyeR/T View Post
    I went to Harbor Freight and bought the Chicago 7" rotary. Can someone give me some advice on a backing plate? I have been using a DA (Dewalt) for many years. I figured I would try the rotary route (in the interest of time). I have 4 kids so anyway to save time I look into. If It goes well I will pull the trigger on a nice rotary.
    Thanks,
    Rick
    I hear the HF rotary is not very good. The speed is not constant. Well since you have it you may as well practice with it. Get an old panel and go for it. It is not hard to use a rotary. Just keep away from edges and keep it flat and moving. If you get an old panel, try burning the clear by staying in one spot. You'll find it's not easy to do, so don't be afraid of burning your clear. Tape all ridges till you get comfortable doing them. Just use some common sense and you'll be fine.

Post Thanks / Like