autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Tire Shine Showdown

I mentioned I was going to do a comparison between different tire gels since I have a few of them from samples and purchasing. Therefore I wanted to do a comparison to see which tire shine best fit my application and overall outcome that I desired. Please be aware that I am not a professional and am pretty new to this art.

The contenders were: DP Tire Gel, Wolfgang Black Diamond Tire Gel, and Blackfire Total Eclipse Tire Gel.

Here are my findings and results...

I started with this...

A clean tire, stripped down to the bare rubber.

I wanted to show you the initial application of gel vs the raw tire so these next few photos will show you a 50/50 shot of the first initial application vs the tire itself.

DP

Wolfgang

Blackfire

After finishing the last tire, I went back and reapplied, then even reapplied after that. I ended up putting about 3 coats of gel on each tire. I tried to wait about 30 minutes (as the DP requires that for reapplication), however I might have been a little short as I was estimating and wanted to get the project done.

Here are the final shots...

DP

Wolfgang

Blackfire

Here are my thoughts going through my head as I was applying the products.

The DP was very runny compared to the other 2. It almost seemed watered down. Yes I shook it, after I initially used it I even shook it again just to make sure. When applied it seemed to go on VERY thin. I understand the instructions ask you to apply thinly but it did that for you.