autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Backing plate and pad sizes for PC 7424XP

So I have basically decided to take the plunge and buy a PC 7424XP package of some sort, just have not decided on pads and such yet. I know that what ever package I decide on it will come with a backing plate that is 5 inches. However, I also want the machine to be able to use different backing plates and pad sizes, both larger and smaller. I can only afford one machine and it would be used maybe once a year so it has to be flexible and easy as I am a newbie to DA's.

I was thinking of also getting a 3 inch backing plate and pads for the smaller/tighter areas. I talked with Griot's, as I was leaning towards their 6 inch orbital but they said that if I got a 3 inch backing plate the balance would out, which then means the machine can skip and bounce over the surface. Not sure if this is true or if they just want to push/sell their 3 inch orbital.

So my question is whether anyone has had any issues with the "balance" of the PC using either larger and/or smaller backing plates and pads?

Mike Phillips

Re: Backing plate and pad sizes for PC 7424XP

Hi Thumpr and welcome to AGO!

Your question is a good one an a common one, probably one of the top 10 articles I've written answers your question. Take a read-through this article...

5 inch Backing Plates on Meguiar's, Griot's and Porter Cable DA Polishers

Post Thanks / Like