autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Page 16 of 61 FirstFirst ... 67891011121314151617181920212223242526 ... LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Re: Harbor Freight DA Polisher - New

Quote Originally Posted by ralphwiens View Post
    Hey all, Newbie here, I have the Harbor Freight DA Polisher and am planning on ordering the following for my black Jeep Wrangler (need to remove some trail scratches). Any opinions or recomendations would be appreciated.

Also what speed setting for the two Menzerna products for this DA

Menzerna SIP - Super Intensive Polish (IS 1500) PO 83
    Menzerna Super Finish (SF-4000) PO 106 FA

Meguiars Rotary Buffer W64 Backing Plate, 5 Inches
    Hi-Gloss CCS Orange 5.5 Inch Power Pad
    Hi-Gloss CCS White 5.5 Inch Polishing Pad

The scratches appear to be in the clear coat only. I am also thingking of putting on the Optimum opti-coat as an extra layer of protection so next time I have to buff it out I won't be wearing the paint thin.

Optimum Opti-Coat 2.0 Permanent Paint Coatin

Hello and welcome! The Mezerna products should have their own specs on what speed and pad combo to use. The Meg's backing plate would be the one to go with. Also, make sure you use and IPA after polishing to make sure the paint is clean before you apply the opti coat.
    I could go on for hours about the buffing process, I actually just did a 10' black 4 door jeep. Overspray and Scratch swirl removal. The polisher is great for it but its pretty standard with other machines the magic comes from the pad and polish combo.

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by LeFou View Post