autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Best $50 to spend on accessories

Hello All,

I received a 7424XP for Christmas this year, with no added accessories or backing plates or anything. I've never used a machine polisher before either so keep that in mind for recommendations.

I've got a small amount of supplies from hand caring for vehicles, but our currently vehicles are new, and I want to keep them looking their best.

In our stable of vehicles: 2016 WRX Premium in Ice Silver Metallic (Light silver), and 2014 VW Tiguan in Black

If you had $50 to spend on accessories or things to make machine polishing possible, what would you buy?

Currently I'm leaning towards the following things (Yes I know they exceed $50, but I'm hoping to stay low key)

Lake Country 5" backing plate
    Chemical Guys Assorted Pad Kit with Pad Cleaner in 5.5" pad size

My goal is to be able to wash clay wash vehicles, then apply a glaze by machine, then apply wax by machine and wipe off by hand. The vehicles have no major defects currently so no real cutting should be needed (though I could be wrong and just untrained)

What do you guys/gals think?

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Best $50 to spend on accessories

If you're not aiming to do paint correction, I would not recommend to purchase the 5" backing plate at this time.

Do you have enough brushes for detailing? Maybe a wheel woolie brush for the wheels?

Post Thanks / Like