autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 5 of 7 FirstFirst 1234567 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Re: Commuting for work - how far is too far?

I had a 1 hour commute recently for about 8 months (no longer - now it's 1/2 hour). I'm a pharmacist & one of our very busy stores got run into the ground due to "issues". So, me & another long term guy got booted up there to clean it up... I also work 12 hr days... So it was a long day.

Now, I only work 3 or 4 days a week due to my long hours. Plus, I knew my 1 hour commute situation was temporary...Doing it 5 days a week is going to be a GRIND. Something else important to consider is what the drive is like. My drive was like being on auto pilot. It literally took my the same amount of time down to the minute each day. It you have to deal with possible traffic headaches - that's going to be stressful.

But, it's also important to like the people you work with. While I resented the 1 hour commute, I really didn't make too much noise about it because the people I were working with were just awesome first class talented peeps. I guess if your starting a new job - who knows if you will like them?

I have no problem passing time in the car. I'm a big Stern fan & music fan.

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by Pats300zx View Post
    I have been commuting 30-60 mins a day for past 25 years. Once you get accustomed to it there is no real big deal. If it's your dream job I say...
    GO FOR IT !!!
    My hour long commute has been going on for 25 years also
    Don M
    2017 Camaro 2LT
    376 RWHP, 6-Speed manual

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by Don M View Post