autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

New guy, feeling discouraged

Hello all,

I've been browsing this forum for a few months now, reading the AG articles and Mike's how to's. I have been learning a lot already, and have improved my detailing skill immensely over the past few months. I can hardly believe there was a time that I didn't dry my car after a wash! I now have a fair stock pile of MF towels, and am starting to learn which products work for me, and what to avoid.

Anyway, both of my vehicles are in need of a polish. My Avus Blue 95 BMW M3 has some hazing, minor swirls, and some marks from old bird poo and water spots. My black f150 is really swirled, and I can tell that someone tried polishing in the past, and really mucked it up.

I am one who likes to DIY. If I can research it online, I'll do it myself. So when it came to polishing I figured it would be something I could do pretty easily.

However, I just can't get over the initial investment required. I figured I'd start with a HF DA with a new backing plate, some LC pads, and Megs compound & polish available at my local parts store.

With all that though, I'm thinking I'd need to spend what, maybe $3-400 just to get started? That's a bit more than I was hoping. It's really got me bummed out.

I know it will pay for itself eventually, but spending that much on something that will get used maybe once a year at most? It's a bit much to swallow. I was thinking of trying to find some second hand stuff, but I'd still want to invest in new pads.