autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

New guy in Massachusetts!

Hello everyone!

I'm a long time amateur detailer here in Massachusetts. Though I have been extremely meticulous with my vehicles I have never ventured into the world of machine polishers so I could use some guidance. I was also looking for recommendations for paint sealant.

For the last 15 or so years I have been a loyal Zaino user on my toy, S100 user for my daily drivers. More recently I have begun layering S100 on top of the Zaino on my toy. I have a variety of over the counter cleaners, polishes and waxes and recently decided it was time to venture into the world of machine polishing so I picked up a harbor freight DA, a couple of cutting pads, polishing and finishing pads. I also picked up a few Meguiars Polishing pads, some 205 and Mirror Glaze Swirl Remover.

The toy is a 2009 Mazda MX5 which is stored in the winter months, has never seen rain or snow and has a nearly flawless finish. It's a dark blue, "Stormy Blue Mica" as defined by Mazda. The clearcoat on the car is very soft. Two years ago it was washed, clayed, washed, polished by hand and several layers of Zaino applied. The car is quick detailed after almost every run. There are very few visible swirls and light scratches in the clear coat. Over the last year, I have begun layering S100 on top of the existing Zaino.

Obligatory iPhone pic:

Side shot:

Top shot: