autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Hey guys, newbie here

Hey folks.

I find myself here because I just bought a 2016 f150...in black. I have always just done regular cleaning and waxing with my vehicles (only really had two. I keep em forever). I'd wash with whatever I picked up in the auto aisle, then wax once a year or so. Wasn't too crazy about it, and my old truck still looked nice when I sold it with 350,000 miles.

But, it was white. I'm sure there was light scratching all over it, it just didn't show. It also had 200,000 miles when I bought it. Damage was already done.

Well, I don't need to explain the challenges that black presents, but this will be my first opportunity to care for a vehicle from new, and do my best to keep it looking that way.

There is already a ton of light spiderweb scratching from careless washes at the dealer that can be seen if the light hits just right. I'm sure you guys know what I'm talking about.

I want some guidance on selecting the right wash mits (Ibam using a microfiber from Walmart right now), and the right products to polish this thing up and get rid of all that, and then keep it washed and cared for and minimize the reappearance of those in the future.