autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Progress

Post Thanks / Like

Progress

Hey everyone. Wanted to start a thread to record my progress with my entry into the professional detailing world.

History: I've been doing detail work for myself for a few years and finally decided to expand my knowledge and offer my services to friends and family last year. I didn't receive a lot of work, but the work I did got good results and lots of compliments. That's what started me on my journey to where we are now.

Purchases: I had quite a bit of equipment of products prior to this year, but realized if I was going to do this 100% I would need to invest more into it with the intention of making my business profitable and well received.

My larger purchases were:
    5x8 enclosed Haulin' trailer - $1695
    Commerical powerwasher, water tank, booster pump - $1300
    Trailer vinyls: $450

The small purchased add up very quickly as well. I had initially set a budget for myself of $4000 to get up and running and I think I'm a right at or just past that now.

Legalities: I lucked out and have a buddy who's a lawyer to help me with the legal paperwork. He did the work for free and said it's easy to do without a lawyer, but said he would have charged over $700.

Insurance: To insure my truck commercially, the trailer and to have a $1 million liability insurance policy costs me $275/month. My full coverage truck insurance was 180ish a month before hand to give you a reference. I received a few quotes from other companies that were way over what I ended up going with. Not sure why that is, but I went with Farm Bureau Insurance.