autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Getting started in the detail industry

I am debating about switching jobs from wrenching on cars to detailing cars. Currently I have been wrenching for just under 2 years absoulty hate it. I have always used detsiling as my get away. Then started doing friends and families cars. Made money to travel for vacations and such.

My main concerns are that I have never seen in a detailing job listing that there are benefits. Is this a rarity in this industry? And also how can I get into a shop with just my weekend worrior experience? I have skills just not with a rotary. Seems to always hold me back.

I would love to be my own boss but right now I need the benefits for my wife who has ms. Once she is done getting her masters degree and gets a job with benifits. She said I can go full steam ahead on that. But it would just be nice to make money doing something your passionate about.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Getting started in the detail industry

Sounds like you should really just suck it up for a few more years till your wife is done with school. Unless you have a good amount of clients already, you don't want to go into something new when your the only source of income in your household.

Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like
    That's totally my plan. I was just hoping to get into a shop in the meantime just curious how to get in to the industry and about benefits

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by Prerunner06 View Post