autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Getting "in" with a Car Club

Hi all, so I'm just getting started with a part time business and I'm having some trouble "getting my feet wet" so to speak, with advertising and marketing. I think my problem is lack of confidence in salesmanship. I know I can correct a car's paint, and make an interior look like brand new again. I have trouble convincing myself that I can convince someone else that they should pay me money to do this to their car.

So I went to my local car cruise tonight, put on by a club I've actually been meaning to join up with anyway. They put this on every week, it's a nice showing, there is a DJ and probably around 150 cars. I talked to the president and the webmaster about helping me get my name out and they both seemed amenable. I gave them some cards and they said they would put a mention in the next club e-mail and up on the website. I offered to donate some sort of service for a raffle for one or two of their larger show events and they suggested I set up a table at their major event (which isn't until next June, I missed this year's event).

So my question is, does it seem like I'm headed in the right direction? I don't want to just be giving things away without also being able to get my name out there and market. What are some tips for entering the market from scratch? I should also mention that I do this part time, still have a full time job and I don't "need" detailing to keep food on the table, I just want the part time thing to be a success.

Thanks!

~Eric
    Last edited by Eric@CherryOnTop; 07-30-2013 at 09:16 PM. Reason: update