autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Guide to headlight restoration

Guide to headlamp restoration
    Background: Been restoring headlights for about 4 years. In a previous life, I was an electrical engineer and technical writer, so my articles are long winded and anal. I apologize in advance.
    Products tried or evaluated: Probably every product known to man
    Customer base: Everything from buy here/pay here to retail ?Lexus? customers
    Pricing model: $20/vehicle (multiple vehicles at 1 location) to $120 mobile
    Having learned a few tricks over the years, I?d like to share some thoughts with others either presently restoring headlights or thinking of doing so.
    First of all, I don?t believe there is a ?one size fits all? approach to restoring headlights. It?s a function of each situation and is based on time, customer?s expectations, price and longevity. For example, at a low end used car lot, they want it to look good, be fast and cheap, and last long enough to get it off the lot. At the other end is a Lexus owner who wants their headlights to look like new and last for years.
    No single approach can meet these two situations. We use different procedures and products for different customers.
    Basics
    Since the late 1980's, most automobile headlights have been made out of polycarbonate, a type of plastic. This plastic gives auto makers greater design freedom than conventional glass headlights. Polycarbonate is impact resistant and easily formed into complex shapes.