autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

I'm a beginner and need some advise

Hope I'm posting this in the right section

I picked up a '98 BMW with a lot of scratches in the paintwork, mostly on the sides, below is a photo of what it looks like

I'm a beginner and need some advise-img_1022-jpg

I'm a beginner and need some advise-img_1021-jpg

This is a closer look

I'm a beginner and need some advise-img_1015-jpg

And this is a close look at a section after three passes using a DA polisher and Wolfgang total swirl remover, as you can see there are still some scratches present.

I'm a beginner and need some advise-img_1014-jpg

I could do with some help in choosing a good compound and pad to get better and perhaps faster results?

Sorry just realised the photos are upside down..................Thanks

Post Thanks / Like

Re: I'm a beginner and need some advise

I don't know what kind of magnification/scale that last picture is at, but those would appear to be RIDS (Random Isolated Deep Scratches) and common sense would tell us that if you try to remove them you risk thinning the clearcoat too much. How does that section look from 5 feet away?

Post Thanks / Like

I just did a 1932 cadillac single stage and very thin soft paint.I used sonax cutmax and the polish 04 06 came out beautiful with some thin pro cutting foam pads.just like setec said you can't chase every scratch just make it shine safely.Check out my FB page St lucie auto spa.The cadillac is posted on there.

Post Thanks / Like

Is it single stage meaning do you get paint on your pads from the fender you are polishing?

Post Thanks / Like