autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Sappy paint

Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Sappy paint

Hello, I'm a newbie and this may have been answered but I've not found it after looking. My Aston Martin DB9 has very nice condition paint. However, I must have parked the car under a tree and now I have tons of little spots smaller than water spots. I cleaned the glass with an aerosol spray Carnuba based bug/tar cleaner but am hesitant to try on the paint. Any suggestions or direction to an older thread?
    All the best,
    Mark

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Sappy paint

Go buy Denatured Alcohol from the paint section at any major retailer...Get some soft microfiber towels, lightly saturate with the alcohol. Then gently rub on the sap until it disolves. Take care around rubber and plastic trim, but damaging it shouldn't be a big problem. Then you'll need to re-apply whatever paint protection product you like.

Post Thanks / Like

Here is a how to article for tree sap.
    How To Remove Bugs and Tar

Remove bugs and tar quickly with our paint-safe bug and tar removers, bug sponges, and detailing clay bars. In this detailing guide to insect removal, we’ll tell you how to remove bugs, tar, and tree sap from your vehicle without scratching. We’ll even give you some tips on preventing bug stains and etching. Learn how to keep your vehicle bug-free!
    It depends on how long you've let the sap sit before you jump in with a specific solution.
    If it's topical, and not started to harden, generally a good wash with a shampoo high lubricity will loosen and remove most if not all.