autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0

Thread: Newbie

Post Thanks / Like

Hello fellow detailers! So I'm about to order a griots orbital from autogeek. I'm new to machines. My apologies if the questions have been asked or are dumb.

I know these orbitals are safe so to say. Applying wax. Is there any chance that I can burn the paint while putting a coat of wax on. Is there a chance to remove paint from the cars lines or edges with the wax application?

I also think im going to need to buy a 3 inch and 6 inch machine. The 03 cobra hood has so many edges.

I wont mess with the polishing just yet. May pick up some old hoods and practice first.
    2003 SVT COBRA
    Built and prepped by Mustang Magic (home of snakebite)
    Tuned by Joey at Mustang Magic

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Newbie

Great choice of machine, Stangfreak. I will say a definitive no to the chance of burning through paint while applying a wax or sealant by machine. Is it possible to burn paint with a Griots DA machine? Certainly, HOWEVER it is still very difficult in my opinion when used properly. That was always one of the huge benefits mentioned in the times of early DA market introduction. It was a much safer alternative to rotary machines that are and were stronger and hotter than a dual action motion.

When you are applying wax or sealant you will be using the softest pad you have. There should be NO CUT allowed by the pad used for wax. Plus the fact you don't need the fastest machine speed to apply a thin, even layer of wax. I apply waxes and sealants with my Porter Cable DA at speed 3 - 4. Soft pad, wax or sealant product (also no cut) used and slow machine speed = low friction and heat = SAFE!