autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Trying to get used to the 3401, some questions

Got the kids in bed and the presents done so I finally got around to trying out my flex 3401 that I got about a week ago and I'm trying to figure out a few things here.

Background, I've been using a PC7424 for about 3 years now and have achieved excellent results, but I stepped up to a 3401 really to save time. I just tried it out on the hood of my car to see if I could get some of the fine swirls out and ran into a few issues.

It definitely has a different feel to it than the PC with the forced rotation so it took a little bit to get the balance so it wasn't pulling or stopping so I think I have that down.

What I used: Optimum Polish, white Lake Country flat pad and white cobra cross groove

Problems: Product appeared to dry almost instantly and took a ton of effort to wipe off. Seemed like there was virtually no working time at all. Felt like I could have gotten better results with the PC.

What I tried: Originally once I spread the product I cranked it up to 6 and went for it. After the problems I started backing down to 5, then 4 and eventually 3. It seemed to be better on 3 with the Cobra pad, but still had issue with it drying and didn't really get much correction out of it. I was also using less pressure than I would normally with the PC. Usually with the PC I would use only about a dime size dab of the Optimum and it worked good. I also tried different amounts of product here as well and no difference, dried instantly. I just can't figure out what's up...maybe it's the egg nog...