autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

is a flex 3401 good for a beginner???

hello i am new to machine polishing and i have been doing quite a bit of research on dual action polishers and was wondering which would be best to begin with??? i know the porter cable is usually recommended for first timers but i want to buy a polisher that is not only safe but i can grow into and not turn around and end up buying a flex when i could have done so in the first place. any help i would greatly appreciate it. pros and cons about the flex would be nice also. thanks for the help.

Post Thanks / Like

Re: is a flex 3401 good for a beginner???

I had a PC for a few years before I plunged in and got the FLEX. I have absolutely no regrets in getting the PC, since it's lighter and a lot easier to hold and maneuver (The FLEX is somewhat of a beast to handle) and I still use 4" plate to polish areas I can't get to with the FLEX along with using the 6" plate for LSP applications. That being said, I absolutely love the FLEX and if I knew then what I know now, I would have just gotten the FLEX to begin with and saved myself $125.

Post Thanks / Like

I think it is just as easy to use as the PC. It is a lot more expensive is all. You'll get the work done quite a bit faster, but the machine is essentially the same as far as how you use it goes. It is a lot heavier and you'll certainly develop some good forearm muscles before long, but either the PC7424 or the Flex 3401 would be good machines for beginners or professionals alike. It is an easy machine to use and the learning curve is practically non-existent.

Post Thanks / Like