autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Fear To Flex

Post Thanks / Like

Fear To Flex

Hi everyone. I got my first AG order about a month ago. I am new to detailing and have not used the new Flex 3401 yet as both of my cars are new 2009's and didn't need any paint correction. Yesterday though I did notice after topping the 2 coats of wdgps3.0 with a coat of Fuzion that there where a few minor swirls on the hood of the Porsche...eeek. It is so upsetting as I was so meticulous through every step of the detailing. You can only see them if the light hits them in a certain way but just the fact of knowing that they are there troubles me. Now that the moment of Truth has arrived and there is a need for some paint correction the fear of inexperience is setting in. After reading many posts about the awesome power of the flex I feel a little intimidated by the red beast. I have some experience with power tools. Am I over reacting? I have a bottle of Menz. 85rd as the swirls are of a very minor nature and there are not that many of them would it be advisable to use the 85rd as a single step polish followed by an ipa wipe down and than reapply the wdgps and Fuzion? Or do I need to start off the polishing with a more aggressive polish and than go to the 85rd? My thought was to start the polishing with the 85rd and a white LC smart pad. Obviously there is nothing to be lost in practicing with the Flex on an old body panel but for this minor correction do you feel that it is really necessary as I would first have to acquire a practice body panel. Also can a glaze be applied over the Fuzion to hide the swirls until I am ready to polish them out?