autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Post Thanks / Like

New to me Honda Generator for $32

I came into work last week, and saw that the pawn shop a few doors down had left out a generator. Thinking that they left it out on accident, i wheeled it into the shop. I'd return it when they opened up, as I know the owner .
    Out of curiosity, I tried to start it. The pull cord wound not budge. A little more investigating, and i found the problem....the plastic cam gear had shattered into several pieces.

Being an auto tech, I started grabbing my tools and went to to town tearing it apart. About 45 minutes later, I had parts everywhere. Before i split the case, I checked compression, to make sure the valves were still good...which they were.

After everything was apart, I then went online and got the model number and started looking up the parts that i'd need to get it up and running. Went to amazon and using my PRIME, ordered the cam gear and replacement timing belt. I also had to order a stator brush assembly for the generator, as one was missing.

Waited 2 days, and the parts finally arrived. Put the case back together and let it sit overnight to ensure the ULTRA GRAY silicone had plenty of time cure. I didn't want to have to do this all again because i was in a hurry.

Came in the next day, and when I had time, I started working on it again. Before I put oil in it, I sprayed a few squirts of starter fluid in it, and pulled the cord. The little engine came to life for about 2 seconds, which is all needed to know.