autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Looking For A New Buffer

Since this is my first post, let me start by saying Hello to everyone. I am not a professional detailer, but I enjoy taking care of my 3 vehicles. Well I used my old orbital buffer yesterday for the first time in a few years and the pad just went to crap (dry rotted). For years, I used a cheap Craftsman 9 inch buffer that I can no longer order pads for. So it leaves me to the question of what is a good buffer for a novice? I would like to up my detailing skills, but not sure what buffer would suit my needs. I'm sure you have heard this question a million times. Looking for a buffer that will give me a quality shine, but safe in not burning the paint. Not sure if I can have the best of both worlds.
    In the past, I have been using a Carnauba Wax (Mothers), just purchased some Meguiars Gold Class Carnauba Plus Paste Wax to try on my 2008 Dodge Nitro. I understand that the type of polish will have variable effects.
    I want to say thank you in advance for any information that will assist me.

Ron A.

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Looking For A New Buffer

Welcome to the forum!

The first thing that you have to recognize is that the machine you have been using is what is frequently referred to as a "wax spreader" (which appears to be what you have been doing with it).

When we talk about "buffing" here, we are generally referring to abrasively removing paint defects. There are very safe machines which will not burn the paint.

You might want to look at these just to get started:

http://www.autogeekonline.net/forum/...-spreader.html