autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Please help me make a buffer decision - voice of reason please!

Let me start by saying I am not a professional detailer. I only take care of the 3 vehicles in our household, as well as two boats. I currently have a Griots 6" DA and 3" DA as well as a Makita 9227 rotary polisher. I am currently in the process of buffing out some light oxidation on one of the boats using the Makita. It is going fine, but it seems that the Makita is getting heavier each time I use it. Well, maybe it's not getting heavier, but I am getting older, so you get the point. So I have started considering getting something a little lighter. However, I only use the rotary maybe once or twice every year or two. Most of my detailing can be handled with a DA. So should I suck it up and just keep using the Makita for occasionally buffing the boats, and credit it as "exercise"? Or would investing in a newer lighter weight tool be a good investment for my well being? And if I do get a new tool, is there a recommended one that would be able to adequately buff lightly oxidized gel coat, but also be safe enough to use on a car's paint? Thanks in advance!
    Craig

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Please help me make a buffer decision - voice of reason please!

I personally would stick with what you have.your doing this as a hobby so speed isn't a issue for you.I personally would stick with what you have.The griots 6 will tackle anything with the right pads and products.

Post Thanks / Like

Sorry about double post.

Post Thanks / Like