autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Porsche Detailing Help

Hi Guys,

I am really new to the detailing world and trying to learn as much as I can. Recently, I purchased a Porter Cable 7424XP along with a full set of Chemical Guys Hex-logic pads to start my collection. I already had some Meg. Ultimate Compound, SwirlX 2.0 and Meg. Ultimate Polish, and purchased HD Speed along with Chemical Guys VSS for one step solutions.

I have a Macan Turbo that recently came back from the dealer with a ton of swirl marks. I don't know if they were entirely responsible for the marks or if I just suddenly realized them on that particular day. Either way - I am determined to make the car look perfect again.

I taped off sections of my hood and tried a few different combinations of product and pads. I found HD Speed worked pretty well but didn't remove all the swirls. Since it was a one step solution that wasn't getting me to the point I wanted, I figured it wouldn't be a good idea to continue with it. Maybe it will be a good maitenance product for future details.

CG VSS left significantly more swirls so didn't think twice about this AIO. This left the multi step Meguiars which seemingly was removing 97% of scratches. I used a yellow pad with the Ult. Compound on the entire car and then followed it up with Ult. Polish on black pad. I was applying quite a bit of pressure on the yellow pad and did cross paterns slowly to get the most cut.