autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Post Thanks / Like

Novice asks how to start

I've been wrenching and advising for many years on Technical matters but never really learned "pretty" beyond "wax on/wax off".

Was down in Stuart so bought the Porter Cable Kit which included the Mike Phillips book & have been absorbing a lot of data but having a hard time deciding which of all the bottle to use first. Or best to wash and clay bar first ?

My first project is going to be a 1988 Buick Reatta that was resprayed Sapphire Blue Firemist (original color) in 2010 and has had little except washing and waxing since. It is garaged in Orlando so never gets below freezing.

Where would you suggest I start and in what order please. Am somwhat ignorant about detailing but that is curable.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Novice asks how to start-ingar-jpg  

Mike Phillips

Re: Novice asks how to start

I'd start by reading my book from cover to cover, it walks you through the order of steps.

Besides that, start by washing the car really well and then after drying the car do the baggie test to the paint. The baggie test is in the book.

My guess is she needs to be clayed badly.

Then the next step is doing some testing to see which combination of products will be needed to remove the defects to your satisfaction before waxing. This could be machine polishing and then waxing or if the paint defects are deep or severe then you many need to compound, then polish and the wax.

Testing should tell you what you need to use to get to the results you want. And this is all in the book.

Pretty color.