autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Which ones MUST you avoid application in the sun

I'm a novice here and hope to get some advice for my weeks project. I have a 2011 Ford F150 (white) which has lost it's ability to hold a shine. From reading and corresponding with a couple of members I have this plan of attack:

Wash the truck with Dawn dish washing liquid to clean the truck and remove old wax.

Clay the truck

Apply Mothers Pure Polish

Apply Menzerna polishing compound

Apply Collonite 845 wax

OK. now what I want to know is if there are any of these steps that MUST be performed out of the direct sun to get satisfactory results. My only option to work out of the sun would to be to start my work very early in the morning. This would mean it would take me several days to complete the task and also it means I would have to get up very early in the morning (not a good thing at my age).

Also, I don't have a buffer so all of my work will be done by hand.

Thanks in advance for your advice and comments.

Charlie

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Which ones MUST you avoid application in the sun

You've got your polishing and compound steps reversed. Compound is first and only when needed. I really can't imagine compounding, polish, wax an f150 by hand.

Post Thanks / Like

If you have to work on it in the sun I believe 3D has products for this situation.

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by ccm View Post