autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Why takes me so long?

Hey everyone, I'm trying to speed up my process for detailing/cleaning cars. I'm pretty new to the business and do a great job but feel that I take too long in the process. Here are the steps I take for what I call a stage 1 detail (my basic package)

Detail Rims/Wheel Wells
    Hand Wash (2bm)
    Microfiber/High Pressure Air Dry
    Deep Gloss Spray (quick detail spray)
    Dress Tires
    Clean Door Jambs
    Shampoo/Spot Treat Mats
    Clean and Dress Interior Vinyl/Plastic
    Vacuum Interior and Trunk
    Clean Windows

On average this takes me 3-4 hours, but feel that it's too long.
    A client requested a wax on this package so I did a clay bar and wax which took a total of 5 hours.

I guess my question is, based on what I do, how long do you take or would it take you to do this much?

Thank you in advance.

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Why takes me so long?

Are you making the interior spotless? Every nook and cranny cleaned and dust free? That's how long it takes our interior + exterior jobs, but the job is done PERFECT, every edge and corner, every nook and cranny is made spotless.
    Former professional detailer. Current medical student (class of 2023)

2017 Infiniti Q60 3.0t AWD

Post Thanks / Like

A full inside/outside job with spot treatment, etc usually takes me 3-4 hours depending how bad the interior is. But as stated, there's not a spot in that car that I havent touched, and you'd be hardpressed to find something that isnt clean.

Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like