autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Going Crazy, What's the Right Way to Clean Glass???

I CANNOT get a clean windshield. I've been detailing since 2010 and have not once got a perfect windshield. I get haze and holograms in the windshield every time. I'm using Rain-X and a MF cloth. I have even tried newspaper and that ended horribly. What does everyone use to clean glass?

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Going Crazy, What's the Right Way to Clean Glass???

When you say you are using Rain-X, do you mean Rain-X glass cleaner (I presume) rather than the water repellant treatment? I always have problems with the treatment being hazy and difficult to get a clear window, but my bottle is older than most members of this forum.

I'll presume you are using the Rain-X glass cleaner. Are you having the problem with the inside or the outside of the windshield? What kind of car and how old? Has the car been smoked in? What kind of towels are you using?

There can be a lot of factors--I find that some Honda products seem to have a very difficult windshield surface--inside and out.

Also, cigarette smoke, outgassing of interior components, and volatiles from dressings can deposit on the windows and cause a greasy film that is difficult to remove. Usually a glass cleaner containing isopropyl alcohol (IPA) works, but you might need to use stronger solutions of IPA or in some cases a mild glass polish or other polish on interior surfaces (don't do that on rear windows with antennas or defrosters).