autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Old wax and sealant remover

Hey guys i am kinda new to detailing...i have only done wash and wax regularly my old cars nothing else..i bought new car couple of weeks ago..i like to protect the paint on my car so applied Duragloss 105/601 combo after reading it on forum and finished with Aquawax..i only did small portion of the trunk..didnt like the way it came out so want to try it from scratch again..meaning want to go back to bare paint again..before applying wax and sealant i did clay the area using Griots speedshine..then applied 601/105..will P21S Paintwork Cleanser 11.8oz remove the wax and sealant..i am also considering Mothers 07100 California Gold Pure Polish which is bit cheaper..instead of duragloss i am going to try Griots all in one sealant..please let me know if i should get P21S or mothers..also liked Griots paint prep but not sure if i will get it..thank you

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Old wax and sealant remover

I use P21S every 2 years on my 08 Corvette and works well for me.

Post Thanks / Like

IMO you are over-thinking this a little. Is this the Griot's product you want to use: Griot's Garage One-Step Sealant, One Step Paint Sealant, liquid car wax sealant ?

Because that's got cleaners in it that will remove whatever you have on there now. But let's circle back to the DG 105/601 topped with Aquawax that you "didn't like the way it came out". What didn't you like? Did you mix the 105/601 together? Or apply them separately?

I'm probing for a technique issue, because if you didn't like that combo, I'm not sure you're going to be happy with the Griot's, either.