autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Grout Sponge Technique

I am still a newbie when it comes to Rinseless or waterless washes but have picked up on the AG threads about the use of a grout sponge in such.

Can you explain use and technique? I am assuming one pass with sponge and then a rinse in a bucket, perhaps with a grit guard, and then another pass with sponge? I assume you can use different sides of sponge, etc. but is this the basic idea?

Is it better than the MF towel technique? Does the dirt get trapped better with the sponge? Is your experience better with sponge, e.g., less marring?

Thanks.

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Grout Sponge Technique

The only time use sponges of any sort is when I am spreading a product onto a surface and want some scrubbing action, like with IronX. For actually trapping the dirt and contaminates from the surface nothing works as well as quality MF. Plus MF can conform to different surfaces and with minimum pressure required, and you have multiple, known, clean sides to use. With a sponge you really only two sides to efficiently work with compared to at least 8 sides with MF.
    Shaun Shines Automotive Detailing, VIRGINIA BEACH, VA. http://www.facebook.com/ShaunShinesDetailing

Post Thanks / Like

I use the Lowes and Home Depot Grout Sponges and never had a problem. It really keeps from trashing nice microfiber towels plus it saves time on laundry. Here is the technique I use:

.Pre soak the panel with the Rinseless solution in a spray bottle from the bucket
    .One pass over the panel , then flip the sponge and make another pass