autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

which mini polisher

I got a flex a month or so ago and used it a few weeks ago and it is to big to get in certain places on my truck so I am looking at adding a 3" polisher but don't know which one to get. I do not do this for a living just for my truck which is a 06 super duty.

I was looking at the rupes mini or the GG 6" machine and changing the pad to a 3" bp. I am not even looking at the GG mini bc of all of bad comments of lack of power.

I know the GG 6" is cheaper but would the rupes be a better choice bc of the build quality or is that a little over kill..

Post Thanks / Like

Re: which mini polisher

The GG3 is a fine little machine, FWIW. Does it compare to a DA with more than twice the power? No. But for occasional use on contoured panels or for damp sanding, it rocks.
    Francesco

Post Thanks / Like

I donated my GG 3" recently to someone on this site. IMO you should get the GG6" or PC7424XP and get a 2 7/8" backing plate for 3" Pads. I did and it works better than the GG 3".Nothing wrong with the GG 3, but it is only good for very small areas. It can correct, however, the power is lacking compared to the 2 mentioned above.

Since you have a Flex (I do too) you might feel a little frustrated with the GG 3". Pay the extra $$ and get the PC or GG 6.

As for the Rupes....IMO, it is an expensive little machine. I can't give a comment as I have never used one, however, it is a superior machine compares to the GG3"

I have the PC7424XP with all size backing plates and it is the most versatile DA I have. I can use 3" pads all the way to 5.5".