autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Marring and light holograms on 98 GTI

Hey guys,

I'm new to detailing. I recently purchased a 98 VW GTI VR6. The paint was in decent condition, so I decided to watch a ton of videos and read a bunch of forums on how to perfect paint with ease. So, I went to auto geek and bought a Griots 6 inch DA polisher, along with, Meguiar's Correction Compound, Meguiar's MF cutting pad and a MF finishing pad. Once the package came I was beyond excited to get to work. So, like I had read, I washed the car with a MF mit, clayed, and dried with a waffle weave towel. I then went on to pulling the car into the garage to begin correction. I applied the correction compound to the MF cutting pad and primed the disc as directed by videos and forums. I had the polisher on speed 4-5, going in cross motions with moderate pressure and a slow arm motion. I followed up the compounding with ultimate compound and the finishing disc using nearly the same steps as above. Once the car was done, a ton of the scratches and dullness had went away, leaving me a happy man. Well, I pulled my car into the sun later that day and spotted some micro marring and wish wash holograms in the paint! So frustrated...I tried going over the spots again and no results. Please help! This is my first correction experience. I want to learn and fix my mistake rather than take it somewhere to be done. Would appreciate some advice! Thanks guys

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Marring and light holograms on 98 GTI