autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Question Prepping for Opti-Coat 2.0 on a brand new car?

Hi,

This is my first post and I'm hoping someone here can provide me with some guidance as I'm pretty new to all of this.

I just purchase brand new 2014 Lexus IS350 and I would like to Opti-Coat 2.0 which I purchased from AutoGeek.net. Since I live in MN where temperatures are currently ~ zero degrees and can't pressure wash my car so my plan was to:

My questions are:

• Since this is brand new car coming directly from factory as special order do I need to clay and/or compound the car before polishing? I'm asking the dealer to not to buff or wash the car unless it is touch-free and air dry only so no one should be touching the paint with anything before I get it.
    • Are the 3M compound and polish ok to use for my purpose?
    • Is it ok to apply Opti-Coat 2.0 at temperatures that would be ~ 0 - 30 degrees?
    • With the cold weather how long do I need to let the Opti-Coat 2.0 set before I start driving?
    • I will be doing Paint Protection Film over the Opti-Coat 2.0 after couple weeks. Would there be any issues with this?

Thank you for any advise in advance.

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Prepping for Opti-Coat 2.0 on a brand new car?

You make no mention of having a heated Garage?

Without the use of a heated Garage, I'm afraid you will be out of luck with virtually all processes you wish to do.

No wax, sealant, and especially a coating is going to work at temps such as that, and I would say even 50 degrees would be pushing it with any Coating.