autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Need Help Choosing A Machine Polisher And Swirl Remover Compounds

Hello everybody,

For the past few months, I've been searching and reading on this great forum. I have learned a lot so far, but I am still very new to the car detailing world.
    I detail my family member's cars and they look okay. I would like to start polishing the paint, so they would look better.
    In general, all the cars probably have Intermediate Swirls or Heavy swirls.

Any answers, I will greatly appreciate. Thanks

Questions I have, are about machine Polishers and Swirl Remover Compounds.

1. For a beginner, what machine Polisher and Swirl Remover Compounds do you recommend to get the best results?

2. Is it possible to burn through the clear coat or paint, using a DA polisher?

3.Is the Rupes LHR 15ES Random Orbital Polisher a DA polisher?

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Need Help Choosing A Machine Polisher And Swirl Remover Compounds

The Rupes,Flex 3401, PC 2474xp, Meguiars 110V, and the Griots Garage 6 &3" are all dual action. They are all pretty safe when it comes to clear coat burn. You can, the clear can be super thin, and the Flex is really strong with a tendency to jump or walk if not flat. You risk more chance of hitting it with the backing plate though if you don't use the right size pad.

The Flex 3401 is forced rotation. Which means it won't jam up when you hit a curved panel. While that sounds great, I just got mine and it takes quite a bit of practice to use.