autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Post Thanks / Like

Be careful what you pray for...

I've been detailing part-time for the past two years and I've been praying/asking for more detail work so I can quit my "real job".

A month ago, I posted an ad on craigslist hawking my detailing business. Less than a week later I received a call from a gentleman in FL asking me to detail "a few cars" for him in Indiana. I thought he meant 2-3 cars for a friend or family member as a gift or something along those lines.

Boy was I WRONG.

He is a classic car dealer and wanted me to detail the 75+ (!!!) cars he's bringing to the annual Labor Day Auto Auction in Auburn IN.

In case you are not familiar with the Auburn Labor Day auto auction, it's one, if not the biggest, auto auctions in the USA. There are cars ranging from total junk/wrecks to stunning examples of Duesenburgs and everything in between. Most of the cars I'm working on are US made classic cars from Model A's to 1959 fuel-injected Corvette to a late model Cadillac. Nothing exotic like a Ferrari or Lamborghini.

After a little research and discussion with the client, it was determined the level of effort is simply washing the exterior, vacuuming the interior and cleaning windows but nothing advanced like wet sanding and compounding cars or extracting carpets. For those jobs, he hired a detailer from FL he's worked with before.

It never dawned on me to approach dealers at this auction for work. I've been struggling to increase business and, well boys and girls, here it is. One other thing I don't know is if anyone is selling pro detailing supplies at the auction. This is an option I'm considering for next year.